Rate Us

New Dawn Animal Behavior Center
Sep 14, 2019,
We had a great experience with the New Dawn Puppy Pre-School Class. Melissa is a terrific, insightful instructor who stresses patience and positive reinforcement. Our puppy, Rudy, learned the basics well and mastered the class goals. We look forward to our next class.
Sep 14, 2019,
Had a great time learning more about how to teach new skills to my dog. My dog loves coming here and the class is super positive and motivational.
Aug 24, 2019,
This class was so helpful and positive. Would recommend to anyone with a doggo.
Aug 2, 2019,
Melissa was amazing to work with. I brought my older dog in because she was having some negative reactions to my infant son, and just from some of the tips she gave me over the phone along with the in-person session I was able to feel much more confident and understand why my dog is behaving the way she is and how I can make her feel better. My dog is a member of the family, and Melissa helped me understand how to meet her needs. I will definitely recommend her and New Dawn.
Aug 2, 2019,
L O V E D I T! Ozzy did not only learned basic commands like (sit,down,stay, recall etc), but he learned to trust his trainer and the other paw-parents. Ozzy gained so much self-confidence by the 2nd class, he loved coming to class every week. We are going to miss his class mates, the other paw parents and definitely his teacher (aka trainer) Melissa. Melissa and the other SPCA staff were wonderful! they are truly caring and loving. Melissa was wonderful! She took the time to learn about each dog needs, and trained accordantly. Again, We are thankful for this experience, and everything we learned. We look forward to continue with Ozzys training.
Jul 14, 2019,
Knowledgeable, caring trainers who teach valuable information necessary to develop excellent canine members of society. The class made a massive difference in the behavior of all the dogs and people in attendance. Well worth the time, energy, expense and effort.
Jul 14, 2019,
Just finished puppy preschool and enjoyed it! Small class size and very clean facility. Posiitive reinforcement training and fun! Highly recommend!
Jun 30, 2019,
When I adopted my newest family addition (dog), I envisioned a love able, friendly, I can take you with me everywhere pet. Never thinking the 4 month old Aussie I feel in love with, and she with me, would be so “reactive” to new situations and people. Thank heavens my vet recommended New Dawn! Melissa Kolmar has been a major help in my understanding of dog behavior. I like most people “had no idea” that people go about their daily life/interactions in a way that stresses canines. Melissa is calm, patient, knowledgeable and has helped me read my dogs body language (& the body language of other dogs as well) so that I too understand the situation my dog feels she is in. Understanding is the key to any relationship. Thanks to Melissa, I understand my Aussie, she understands what I am asking of her (She has graduated Basic Manners and Intermediate Manners) and we are both making progress together. The saying “you can’t teach an old dog new tricks” is far from truth as I am learning lots. Namely “in the dog world, slow is fast” and “the quickest way to get to where you want to be is slowly”. All relationships take time and commitment. Thank you Melissa and New Dawn my Aussie and I are on this journey together and you are helping make sense of it!
Jun 29, 2019,
Love the classes they are small enough to make sure your dog is getting enough attention. My reactive anxious dog is doing so much better thanks to New Dawn and Melissa and Gillian.
Jun 26, 2019,
We love Melissa and New Dawn! We have done several classes with them and our dog has learned so much and always has a great time! She thinks Melissa is her own personal friend/trainer. The classes at New Dawn are way better quality than PetSmart, where we first took our dog. They are professional trainers and take all different dogs' personalities into account when it comes to safety. The space is big enough for dogs and people to feel comfortable regardless of a dog's temperament. They offer a variety of classes to engage and stimulate your dog, whether for learning or just for fun. They even offer 1 on 1 sessions for specific situations. As the veterinarians will tell you, you will get out of your dog what you are willing to invest- this is a very worthwhile investment, especially for young and unruly pups like ours! I can't speak highly enough of New Dawn.
Jun 9, 2019,
Excellent class, plenty of information and one on one attention.
Jun 8, 2019,
We have taken six separate classes with New Dawn, and I can’t recommend them highly enough! Both Melissa and Gillian are fantastic, CERTIFIED trainers with a wealth of knowledge and experience, and stay up to date on current positive reinforcement training techniques. They are great listeners, and give guidance on how to help each dog with their particular needs. They have a beautiful and clean classroom, and sessions are run very professionally, but still lots of fun!
May 30, 2019,
Dog Training Testimonial NEW DAWN ANIMAL BEHAVIOR CENTER SPCA TAMPA BAY * * * * * STAR RATING Here is a huge thank you, Melissa, for the training you gave me at home with Ping, who I thought had decompensated as a thirteen y.o. shihtzu because of corneal endothelial cell degeneration in his left eye resulting in decreased eyesight this, in addition to some hearing loss, a little dementia and a long-time tracheal cough. How wrong I was to see these as handicaps that disabled him and missed seeing the ableness that remained in his senior self! This I discovered as I watched you playfully engage his interest, then witnessed how you immediately continued to pull a spontaneous sense of fun right out of him, while quickly and continuously rewarding him with your bits of liver snacks as he enthusiastically responded. Several months later, I am compelled to let you know how successful your teachings have been -- mostly of me. Revising my perspective, imitating your m.o., and incorporating what you did and with your follow-up suggestions, I have been able to vastly deepen my relationship with Ping through playing with him …. using a snuffle mat, a stuffed kong, trick training, & dog puzzles to serve more nutritious and varied menus. It's as if he's become a revived version of his younger self. Now, very pointedly, Ping seeks me out every evening for our ritual of playtime fun and trick training. We have been blessed with your gifts of knowledge, insight and kindness. Thank you for bringing so much joy to Ping and me.
May 18, 2019,
We brought our two Standard poodles there for training they have some basic training but really learned a lot at these classes. The instructor was great gave lots of good advice. I highly recommend them for training we signed up for the intermediate course next!
May 16, 2019,
Melissa was a 5 star trainer! We took both the beginners and intermediate courses with our young golden retriever and loved it. Our dog came so far both in the class and at home. The classes do a great job of teaching both the dog and owner valuable day to day skills and lessons. Highly recommend for every level of owner/dog and lots of fun!
May 9, 2019,
Melissa is an excellent trainer. Her understanding of dogs and how to slice learning up for them to be successful makes it more fun for the dog and handler. My dog hates training but was actually enthusiastically learning in her class. We are looking forward to more fun classes!
May 9, 2019,
I have a highly active puppy who was able to learn manners. He learned recall which was very important.
May 9, 2019,
Melissa was great! Very patient & gave instruction in basic, easy to follow way. The facility was also very nice, clean, and tucked away from traffic. We’ve already signed up for our next class!
May 9, 2019,
Melissa really helps the dog owner understand their dog. We learned a lot and can already see an improvement in our dog.
May 4, 2019,
Everyone at New Dawn is great. My dogs have loved every class!
Apr 26, 2019,
Melissa was fantastic, I was unable to attend the first two sessions and she caught me up in a private session prior to the third class. The training philosophy is solid. Positive reinforcement is the only way I would ever think to train any animal.
Apr 26, 2019,
Melissa was absolutely wonderful with our reactive dog in basic training. She was patient and always made sure he had a good experience in class. We are looking forward to starting intermediate next week! I recommend new dawn to every dog owner I know!
Apr 14, 2019,
New Dawn is a great training for all types of dogs. I've sent my puppy to training and also another dog that has trust issues and the girls are wonderful. would highly recommend putting puppies or any dog through their programs.
Apr 14, 2019,
Melissa is fantastic! She listens, gives clear instructions, and clearly enjoys what she does! Would highly recommend taking classes at New Dawn!
Apr 8, 2019,
New Dawn's trainers are absolutely the best! They are true professionals who take into account each dog's personality, strong points as well as fears and tweak their training to lead that dog to success. The classes are stress free for both dogs and handlers.
Apr 8, 2019,
Melissa is an awesome who is very understanding and patient. She's great and catering different techniques to each individual dog. I reccomend her to everyone!!!
Mar 23, 2019,
I attend many, many different classes with my dogs, experiencing a variety of dog sports at multiple training sites. New Dawn has absolutely the most professional and knowledgeable staff.
Mar 21, 2019,
Absolutely amazing, best choice I made for my pup and I.
Mar 21, 2019,
Amazing facility & trainer. They made sure my pup was comfortable and going at her own pace. We just finished their Basic Manners class today and I already signed up for the next class. Would definitely recommend.
Mar 21, 2019,
We absolutely loved the class. My fiance, our golden retriever puppy, and I learned soo much. The class went well beyond just basic obedience manners, but also how to better understand and approach day to day with our dog. Already signed up for the next class!
Mar 15, 2019,
This is a very good class. The science behind the methods are explained and individual needs for the dogs are addressed. I have been a long time client of New Dawn's and will continue to recommend them highly to Pinellas County pet owners.
Mar 15, 2019,
We took the basic manners class. It was an excellent experience. The trainer, Melissa, is very knowledgeable and makes the class so enjoyable. We ended the 6 week class with much more confidence in our ability to train, and our dog has improved his skills greatly. We plan to take the next level class.
Feb 25, 2019,
The Basic Manners class was great. Both Maple (my dog) and I learned a lot. I was surprised how responsive she was to training. We both enjoyed coming each week. One of the most interesting things I learned was reading a dog's body language. So informative!
Feb 16, 2019,
New Dawn is amazing. Great training programs. Our 1 year old Chihuahua went in a handful but has come out with so many fun tips and tricks, he’s a completely different dog. Melissa our trainer had amazing patience with him and was always incredibly positive and helpful even when he was having a “bad day”. Highly recommend!
Feb 5, 2019,
Melissa and her team had given each and every dog their attention and helped us on the areas where we are lagging. The training in a confined space that transition to outside environment allowed me to get focused on what Puti and I had to do without distraction, then apply the knowledge outside and realize what difficulty we might encounter. It is a very encouraging atmosphere to learn in.
Jan 18, 2019,
Basic manners was just what we would hope it would be. Made much progress with my dog and more than that learned a lot about dog behavior. the instructor was terrific and very patient I look forward to attending more classes with my dog.
Jan 12, 2019,
I wasn't able to complete the course with Patches due to a medical emergency but I found the instructor very well informed about taking command of our dog. She was very disruptive in class and I felt very embarrassed because of her behavior but she is only a puppy and I understand that. I am sure I will probably sign up for challenging Patches because she is very smart. I thank Melissa for taking the time out of her busy schedule to teach us and she did a great job, she is a super well versed teacher.
Jan 7, 2019,
I was very pleased with the instructors knowledge, demeanor and tactics. I have been around some form of dog training most of my adult life and found New Dawn's instructors approach, understanding and clear communication the most valuable I have ever experienced.
Jan 5, 2019,
I would recommend New Dawn Behavorial Center to every new pet owner! Benny and I enjoyed the Basic Manners program. His behaviors have improved so much! I have learned so much! Melissa is a great trainer who is kind, gentle and knowledgeable!
Jan 5, 2019,
Wonderful as always! We always learn something new every week we go to class.
Dec 13, 2018,
We, including our dog Dakota, looked forward to going to class each week. Melissa was an excellent trainer. Her classes were well organized, and she taught at a good pace. I love how she gave each dog individual attention and worked with each owner on any questions/concerns they had. Even though we knew skills like sit and down, there was so much more that we learned beyond the basics. This class is a MUST! We can't wait for the next class with Melissa.
Dec 2, 2018,
We got so much from our Advanced Manners class. Melissa was a great instructor and educator. I liked that the class felt relaxed and not pressured. Both Melissa and Gillian know their stuff and know dogs! Look forward to more interaction in other classes.
Nov 30, 2018,
Melissa is awesome. You should pay her more money.
Nov 17, 2018,
New Dawn was awesome! We heard about you from a close friend, and they couldn't stop telling me how awesome you were, and he was so right! Tyson the pup gets excited every week when we turns our car into New Dawn. We will definitely continue training with you for every class in the future. Thank you very much!
Nov 17, 2018,
Emmie is a shy baby, even though at home she is quite the brave little girl! Melissa and New Dawn helped to not only open Emmie up but really teach her how to listen, behave well and become more comfortable with other dogs and strangers. It was great to have quality time with our newest baby each week and the class was so welcoming to Emmie. I can’t wait to get into the next class so she can keep learning!
Nov 13, 2018,
The trainers and assistant at New Dawn provided an incredible experience for my 10-month old golden retriever and myself. My dog was in great need of socialization and confidence building which was provided by this experience and the constant positive feedback from the instructors. The facility is very nice and spotless.
Nov 11, 2018,
Melissa is a very calming. I love the way she teaches and the proper way of showing us how to handle our dogs
Oct 4, 2018,
We’ve done a private training session and puppy pre-school at New Dawn and can’t say enough great things! Both Melissa and Gillian are so helpful - they have a natural ability to teach both dogs and people. I was worried that learning all the things I shouldn’t be doing would make me feel like a bad dog mom, but they have a gentle way of correcting you that ends up making you feel empowered instead of embarrassed. The class was something we all looked forward to and the homework helped keep us accountable during the week. We loved it so much we’ve signed up for the Basic Manners class for us all to continue learning!
Jul 22, 2018,
Good class! Instructor Melissa was very knowledgeable about dog behavior. Class moves at a nice manageable pace. Nice small class sizes.
Jun 22, 2018,
New Dawns Puppy Class was a great start for our puppy Watson. He not only learned great behaviors, but it improved his confidence greatly. We loved Melissa as an instructor and will be back for the next level of training.
66 Reviews

Powered by Review Driver
Disclosure
The reviews displayed may or may not be a complete set. Reviews may be removed if they:
i. Are abusive. An abusive review or comment is one that makes personal attacks, threatens, or harasses others, or uses profanity.
ii. Violate privacy. Reviews that mention specific names of individuals or personal information in a manner that is inappropriate and/or unrelated to the performance of the service rendered are subject to removal.
iii. Are not from a current customer.
iv. Contain material falsehoods.
v. Are deemed inappropriate.
To encourage all feedback, positive or otherwise, an equal incentive for reviews, regardless of rating, may have been provided to the reviewer.

Rate Us